Uncategorized

Green chili enchiladas

My family is mexican and I grew up with the simple, delicious food that signals family to me. It is the one genre of cooking that just comes naturally.

The meat:  Ground turkey – ok not authentic but healthier 🙂  Normally I slow cook a pork roast or chicken all day after coating it, just so, with cummin, fresh garlic, onions or onion power and green chilis.  I’m not a ‘hot’ mexican food person.  Watching my mom sweat and knowing she could eat foods that LITERALLY burned off her taste buds…was not my definition of delicious.  That is not to say I don’t love hot sauces…but for some reason…not with my mexican Food.  Go figure!

The spices:  Cumin, onion power, garlic power, pepper…cover the meat once lightly over.

The BEST:  Chopped green chilies.  I love green chilies!

The cheat:  Green enchilada sauce.

I only place a white cheese in with the meat…no cream cheese or other filling.  Roll them up side by side and cover with the enchilada sauce.  EASY PESY!

The other cheat…shhh…don’t tell my grandma

The beans:  Ok.. I admit. I could cook the beans all day.  But I don’t.  I cheat.  I mix a good can of black beans with another can of green chilies and vegetarian refried beans.  Mix them all up.  1/2 I make another set of bean enchiladas and the rest I coat with a white cheese and place next to the bean enchiladas and bake along side.

Ok…this meal was sort of cheating.  I can cook mexican food.  

Surrounded by my family, it was a weekly balance of tacos, enchiladas, burritos and more.  Except for Christmas!  Christmas was reserved for Tamales.  Sadly, I can’t make those by scratch anymore.  After years of helping my grandma, the years I have been away from ‘home’ have taken away any recollection of how to make the ingredients…although I can still remember how to ‘make’ the tamales in the corn husk.

Maybe…just maybe…this summer I will look up a recipe for that or ask my grandma to send me hers!